How to make your own Shampoo.

I am going to go for it!  I have been researching making your own shampoo and conditioner for a while now and think I am ready to jump on that DIY bandwagon.  My ever supportive mom was listening to me go on and on about all of the stuff I want to “make myself” including my own shampoo and a dress for my friend’s upcoming wedding.  Her response, “Now, if the dress doesn’t work and your hair looks gross, you’ll buy a new dress and some shampoo, right?”  Yes mother (:

So, from what I have read, it takes a few weeks for your body and hair to adjust to not having the normal chemicals from shampoo and hair products running through them.  So, sorry to my DIY husband, but you will have to put up with a bit of greasy hair for a few weeks.  Hope you don’t mind.

Here are my before photos.

photograph of a redheaded woman from the side. She has long wavy hair.

This is taken on the day I don’t wash my hair.  I tend to wash it every other day.  I would say it is because I have read several articles that tell me it is damaging to shampoo my hair every day, but really, I am lazy and it takes a long time for my hair to dry.

top of a woman's head.

Right now I use a generic Head and Shoulders, some gel sometimes and a “make your hair less frizzy and more shiny” concoction.  But, after my baking soda post and finding Hazeltree Farm’s post, I have decided that baking soda shampoo and vinegar conditioner will be going on to these locks that I love.  Hopefully they still love me back after a few weeks.

I will give you my recipe for a baking soda/vinegar hair washing ritual when I get the doses right.

If you are interested in making your own shampoo, here are a few places to check out:

Instructables.com has 10 different recipes for shampoo!

Hello Beauty!

Organic Gardening and Homesteading

Ok, here we go!

 

4 thoughts on “How to make your own Shampoo.

  1. Originally, I followed these proportions: for shampoo – 2T baking soda in 8 oz of water and for conditioner – 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar in 8 oz. of water. After a while, I got tired of lugging my measuring cups into the shower so I filled an old plastic parmesan cheese shaker with the baking soda and mixed a solution of ACV and water in a squeeze bottle and I use those. My thin hair has never been so voluminous or shiny!

    Like

    1. Thanks Rebecca! I am so excited to have my very own custom shampoo that works just for my hair type. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

      Like

    1. Yes, this is an adventurous one! I am excited to see what happens to my hair (: I have only read positive things about it, so I figured it was worth a shot. Keep me in the loop on how it goes for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

