How to Reuse a Belt to Make a Necklace.

A friend of mine gave me this cloth belt when she was cleaning out her closet. I was excited when I saw it because I knew it would eventually turn into something spectacular. Sometimes while I am in my studio and I don’t really know what I feel like making I just start opening random boxes of material to see what jumps out at me. Today, this lovely belt shouted, “Make me into a necklace!” And, so I did. And, you can too.

a gray green belt sits slightly curled up on a bright blue background.


How to Reuse a Belt to Make a Necklace:

1. Put a tape measure around your neck and measure the spot where you want the buckle to hang.
2. Measure away from the buckle to the number of inches you calculated in Step 1. Cut the belt.

a gray green belts is cut

3. Cut the belt 1″ from the last buckle hole.

a gray green belts is cut near the belt holes.
4. Find some coordinating fabric and cut it so that it will cover the cuts you made and wrap around the belt.

a yellow gold rectangular piece of fabric sits near a gray green belt that has been cut.

5. Iron down all four sides of the fabric.

a yellow gold rectangular piece of fabric with all four sides folded and ironed sits on a light blue background.
6. Sew the belt together. Wrap the ironed fabric around the belt and pin in place.

a yellow gold rectangular piece of fabric is folded and pinned around a gray green belt

7. Sew around the fabric.

Find an outfit to wear with your new belt necklace!

woman stand in front of a yellow wall wearing a golden brown tank top and a white knit cardigan.  She is wearing an upcycled belt necklace.

My favorite part to this new necklace is the versatility.  I can wear it long, wear it short, and fuss with it and make it fit whatever mood I am in!

woman stand in front of a yellow wall wearing a golden brown tank top and a white knit cardigan.  She is wearing an upcycled belt necklace.

Leave a Reply

