Experimenting with CDs and Jewelry

close up of a necklace made from reused cds

I have been having some fun figuring out different ways to cook, boil, mold, cut and form CDs into jewelry.  I made a pretty funky CD necklace a couple of weeks ago.  First, I boiled the CD in water until it was fairly easy to cut with scissors.  I cut out the shapes I wanted and then placed them on a cookie sheet and in an oven at 400 degrees F.  After about 5 minutes the CD parts started to bubble.  I let them cool and then made a necklace with some vintage fabric and cord.

a necklace made from reused cds

I love how the CDs look when they bubble.  Looks like glass!  I will have to experiment more and make a series of necklaces.

close up of a necklace made from cds hanging on a woman's neck

One thought on “Experimenting with CDs and Jewelry

Leave a Reply

