How to Reuse a CD to make a Necklace.

Happy New Year everyone!  I hope you all had a nice and relaxing holiday season.  I just got back from an amazing vacation in Alaska.  Although it was freezing (negative 40 F most of the time) it was great to spend time with my in-laws, eat to my hearts content, catch up on some sleeping and reading and have a snowy Christmas.  I am back home now and ready to see what 2011 has to offer.  This week, here is my offer to you.  Make yourself or a loved one a Happy New Year Necklace (:  Or, just make them a necklace from an old cd.

stack of cds on top of a wood table

I will be experimenting with CDs this month to see what creative reuse ideas I can come up with.  First, here is How to Reuse a CD to Make a Necklace Pendant.

cd necklace hanging around a woman's neck

1.  Preheat your oven to 400 degrees F.

2.  Place a CD on a baking sheet.

cd placed on top of baking sheet inside an electric oven.

3.  Bake approximately 5 minutes until bubbles start to form.

baked cd that has bubbles all over it on top of a baking sheet

4.  Take the CD out of the oven and let cool a few minutes.  Cut to your desired shape.

5.  Use an exacto knife to push a hole through the top of your pendant.

exacto knife cutting a hole into a bubbled cd

6.  Sand down the edges of your new cd pendant.

part of a cd on top of a piece of sand paper

7.  String a ribbon through the hole and you have yourself a brand new creative reuse necklace.

cd necklace pendant with a pink ribbon place through a hole.

Now, this is just the fundamentals for making a CD necklace.  You can embellish as much as you would like to.  In fact, if you have a CD necklace you would like to share with me, send it my way (info (at!) howtoreuseitcreatively.com).

close up detailed photo of a cd necklace pendant.

2 thoughts on “How to Reuse a CD to make a Necklace.

  1. I have tried to make these today and cannot get them to do anything but get hot. I even tried to reheat them and they still won’t for any kind of shape. What might I be doing wrong.

    Like

    1. Hi Kandi,

      This particular necklace does not involve shaping the cd. I just heated the cd until it bubbled, then cut it into shapes with an Xacto knife. Hope that helps!

      -Lauren

      Like

Leave a Reply

