How to Upcycle an old Zipper Jacket to a New Doggie Coat.

My husband and I like to go camping as often as possible. We take our puppy Neko with us whenever we can. It is crazy how cold one can get when you only have a bit of nylon and synthetic material separating him/her from the elements. This is especially true for a short haired pups. After our last camping adventure I decided that Neko needs a camping sweater. Luckily, I had an old zipper jacket that was begging to be upcycled.

So, if you want to make your own Dog Jacket, here’s how to upcycle an old zipper jacket to make a new dog jacket:

1. Figure out how long you want the arms of your jacket to be. I decided to make the sleeves so that they would hit Neko at the middle of her arms. She likes to dig, so I didn’t want the sleeves to get in the way of that.

2. Cut the sleeves to the measured length.

3. Fold the cut edge of the sleeves towards the inside of the sleeves. Iron and pin in place.

4. Sew the sleeves edges.

5. Find your dog model and try it on!

Neko was a bit shy for her modeling debut, but I was able to get a few photos of her in her new digs.

4 thoughts on “How to Upcycle an old Zipper Jacket to a New Doggie Coat.

    1. Thanks Phoi! It was super easy to upcycle! I am hoping to make more of them and eventually sell them through my online shop. Thanks for the comment (:
      -Lauren

      Like

  1. Pingback: Small Dog Sweater
  2. Damn, this method is really useful, for beginners like me. I have lots of old jackets that I don’t wear so my dog will be really happy to find out his wardrobe is full with dog sweaters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

