Make your own Salad Dressing

Spring has arrived!  Time to sit outside and soak in the sun while you can.  This is my favorite time of year to pack a picnic and walk the neighborhood to find a new spot to eat and enjoy the scenery and smell of spring.  I wanted to share a few of my favorite homemade super easy and quick salad dressing recipes.

Spring Salad Dressings:

Lemon Oil Dressing

Juice from one lemon

salt and pepper

1/2 cup of olive oil

*Stir and serve!

Ranch Dressing

I am guilty of putting Ranch dressing on just about everything I eat.  I love the tangy creaminess.  I found a great homemade recipe so I could avoid the added extras of store bought dressings by making my own.  Thanks to The Pioneer Woman for this tasty recipe!

Ingredients:

1 clove (to 2 Cloves) Garlic
Salt To Taste
¼ cups Italian Flat-leaf Parsley
2 Tablespoons Fresh Chives
1 cup (real) Mayonnaise
½ cups Sour Cream
Buttermilk (as Needed To Desired Consistency)
White Vinegar (optional, To Taste)
Worcestershire Sauce (optional, To Taste)
Fresh Dill (optional, To Taste)
Cayenne Pepper (optional, To Taste)
Paprika (optional, To Taste)
Fresh Oregano (optional, To Taste)
Tabasco (optional, To Taste)

Directions:
Mince the garlic with a knife and then sprinkle about an 1/8 to ¼ teaspoons of salt on it and mash it into a paste with a fork. Chop the parsley, chives and any of the optional herbs very finely and add to the garlic.

In a bowl combine all ingredients, adding other optional ingredients as you wish, tasting frequently and adjusting seasonings as needed. Chill for a couple of hours before serving, thin with milk or buttermilk if desired.

Balsamic and Olive Oil Dressing

When I am really in a rush to eat and don’t have extra time to make a extensive dressing I fall back on my trusty balsamic vinegar and olive oil dressing.  I LOVE balsamic vinegar, so my ratio is almost 1:1 Just drizzle some olive oil over your salad, then balsamic vinegar, then salt and pepper.  Mix and eat!

Applesauce Salad Dressing

I found this really great post on The Cooks Next Door about how to make your own Spring Salad and Salad Dressing.  The Applesauce Salad Dressing has quickly become one of my favorites.   (recipe link here )

Ingredients:

1/2 cup applesauce
1/3 cup olive oil
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
3 green onions, sliced (include a little bit of green)
1 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp. salt

Mix it up and toss it with all of your salad ingredients!

Chinese Salad Dressing

I love this recipe because it is so tangy and delicious.  I feel like you can add it to just about any combination of salads.  If you want a salad recipe to go with it, check out Chaos in the Kitchen, where I found the dressing recipe.

Asian Dressing
3 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp lime juice
1 tbsp sugar
3 tbsp lite soy sauce
1/2 tsp dry mustard
2 tbsp sesame oil
1/4 cup peanut oil (or other mild salad oil)

Send me your Spring Salad Dressing Recipes! It is always fun to experiment with recipes and make your very own custom salad dressing. Happy Spring and Happy Eating!

2 thoughts on “Make your own Salad Dressing

  1. My “go-to” salad dressing is SUPER easy! I usually just mix a little red wine vinegar with a little more olive oil & add a few tablespoons of sugar (to taste). I never measure it out, I just try to make enough for the number I’m serving. So tasty on a salad with gorgonzola, craisins & glazed walnuts! Yumm…

    Like

  2. Yum! Thanks Katrina, that is a great and super fast recipe. I have a feeling I will be using it this spring and summer (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

