Creative REuse Artist: Angie Schertle of Angie Handmade

The first thing I noticed about the Angie Schertle’s work was COLOR! She seems to have a great deal of fun playing with certain pairings, making each piece bright and inviting.

Here’s what Angie had to say about being and upcycling artist:

1.  Tell us your story…How did you get to where you are now as an artist?
I’ve always love creating things, from the time I was a kid.  But I never really pursued it.  Then when I had kids I started playing around with art and creating with them.  I soon start to realize how much I enjoy it… just trying things and seeing how they come out.  It didn’t take too long for me to start to do my own projects and continue my learning on my own.  And that led me to start my Etsy shop

2.  Why do you reuse material?
There are a number of reasons to reuse.  First of all, my budget is tight.  Using upcycled materials I can create so many things for next to nothing.  And there’s also an added sense of satisfaction when I have made something from what would be garbage.  It’s sort of an extra challenge.  And, of course, it’s so great to reuse rather than bringing new materials into the world.

3.  How do you come up with ideas for creative reuse?
There are so many ideas out there.  I’m addicted to craft books, and I also get ideas from searching on the internet.  Sometimes when I see something that’s destined for the garbage I think of a possible use and add it to my stash.  Now that I’ve been upcycling I often look at garbage with a new perspective – not what it was used for, but as a raw material for its next use.

4.  What kind of reactions do you get to your work?  Any memorable experience?
Most of the time people just notice and, hopefully, love the piece, without really thinking about the materials.  And that’s great because I always want the things I make to be beautiful as they are after being remade.  I think great upcycled pieces shouldn’t necessarily hide the fact that they’re made from a discarded item, but they also shouldn’t look like that’s all they still are.

5.  What advice do you have for anyone interested in creatively reusing something?
Go for it!  It’s a low risk way to try new things and make mistakes.  And there are so many things to reuse, the sky’s the limit.  One easy way to start is with collage.  I recently checked out from the library Collage Unleashed by Traci Bautista.  Now I’m saving tons of stuff for my collages.

6.  What inspires your work?
I really love trying new color combinations, seeing how different colors work together.  No matter what the medium that’s what I decide on first.  When it comes to reuse, it’s really the objects themselves.  I’ll be throwing something in the recycling bin and then think, “Hey, that would make a great _______.”  Or sometimes I have a need for something and I’ll look for a throw-away item that could be turned into that.

7.  Any favorite artists?
Here are some of my favorite upcycle artisans on Etsy:
http://www.etsy.com/shop/katwise
http://www.etsy.com/shop/my7kids
http://www.etsy.com/shop/RadicalRecycks
http://www.etsy.com/shop/katesy
http://www.etsy.com/shop/stiksel
http://www.etsy.com/shop/NormalIsBoring
http://www.etsy.com/shop/capone31

8.  Where do you want to be in 5 years as an artist?
I hope that in five years my crafting is still a big part of my life.  I have no idea what I’ll be making.  It seems that one project leads to the next.

See more from Angie:

ETSY:  http://www.etsy.com/shop/angiehandmade

2 thoughts on “Creative REuse Artist: Angie Schertle of Angie Handmade

Leave a Reply

